Establishment of Regional Equality Committees and Municipal Equality Committees

According to article 7 of Law 4604/2019, each Region must establish a Regional Equality Committee (PEPIS), by decision of the Regional Governor.

In parallel with article 6 of Law 4604/2019, a new Article 70A was added, following Article 70 of Law 3852/2010, on the basis of which a «Municipal Equality Committee» (DEPIS) is now established in each Municipality, as its establishment in all the Municipalities it is deemed mandatory.


  • take into account the policies of the General Secretariat for Equality and Human Rights and the National Action Plan for Gender Equality, with the aim of integrating gender equality into the policies of the Region,
  • recommend and participate in the preparation of Regional and Municipal Equality Plans,
  • formulate proposals and recommend to the competent bodies of the Regions and Municipalities the taking of necessary measures to promote substantive gender equality in all areas of economic, political and social life
  • seek to ensure and promote gender equality and eliminate gender stereotypes through communication and awareness-raising actions among the citizens of the Region.

To date (2021), 259 Municipal Equality Committees and 8 Regional Equality Committees have been established.

Scroll to Top
Skip to content